Audrey was 3 when she started noticing that many of her friends were ‘getting babies’ or had older brothers or sisters. She started grilling me on the rides to daycare and back:

“Are we getting a baby?”
” I don’t know. Maybe one day.”

“When will we get a baby?”
“I’m not sure.”

“How do you get a baby?”
“You pray.”

Ride after ride we had the same conversation. She never asked Daddy these questions- always me.

This past fall, we finally had the news she’d been waiting to hear. We read her a book about a big sister, then told her she was going to become one this summer. Her eyes grew as wide as the ocean, her face lit up like it was Christmas morning and she shouted, “IT WORKED!!!”

Several weeks later we were reading bedtime stories and Audrey took her eyes off the book and looked at me. I could almost see the light bulb light up above her head as she matter-of-factly stated,

    “The day after this baby is born, I’m going to pray for another.”
    “And the day after that baby is born, I’m going to pray for another.”
    “And the day after that baby is born, I’m going to pray for another.”
    “And the day …”

    Good luck with that sweetheart!

