Wednesday. Beans & Rice. Simplicity. Community.

    You know when you’ve attached a food to a memory, a unforgetable time in your life, a time that formed your thinking, that molded you into who you are today and will forever be a part of you? Mine is black beans and rice. One year after college, unsure of my direction in life, I decided to volunteer for a year. Six of us in all came together and agreed that our year would be rooted in simplicity (a good place to start since we weren’t making any money) and community.

    Each of us committed. Wednesday. No meetings, no working, no TV, no phones. We would come home from the various places we volunteered and cook beans and rice together. The rest of the evening was for us; time to talk, share, play games, be silly, be serious, laugh until our stomachs hurt, cry, play jokes on each other, BE community. I looked forward to every Wednesday when the rest of the world was put on hold- it can wait.

    Beans and rice remains my favorite meal to cook. I can’t seperate the meal from those memories- I would never want to.

    Wednesday. Beans & Rice. Simplicity. Community.

